Hard Rock Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Majesty Demos 1985-1986 (2003)


Staff member
Mar 27, 2018
0.00 star(s) Rating: 0.00/5 0 Votes
Title: The Majesty Demos 1985-1986
Artist: Dream Theater
Genre: Progressive Metal
Released: 2003

1 - Particle E. Motion - 1:38
2 - Another Won - 5:26
3 - The Saurus - 1:23
4 - Cry for Freedom - 6:31
5 - The School Song - 6:12
6 - YYZ - 4:03
7 - The Farandole - 3:16
8 - Two Far (instrumental version) - 5:40
9 - Anti-Procrastination Song - 0:13
10 - Your Majesty (instrumental version) - 3:56
11 - Solar System Race Song - 0:17
12 - I'm About to Faint Song - 0:09
13 - Mosquitos in Harmony Song - 0:12
14 - John Thinks He's Randy Song - 0:10
15 - Mike Thinks He's Dee Dee Ramone Introducing a Song Song - 0:16
16 - John Thinks He's Yngwie Song - 0:15
17 - Gnos Sdrawkcab - 0:23
18 - Another Won - 5:27
19 - Your Majesty - 3:45
20 - A Vision - 11:24
21 - Two Far - 5:25
22 - Vital Star - 5:44
23 - March of the Tyrant - 5:34

The Majesty Demos are the first recorded attempts of progressive metal band Dream Theater, under their original name, Majesty. The original 1986 tape contained six tracks which were recorded on Mike Portnoy's analog 4-track recorder, and another 4-track recorder obtained from friends at Berklee College of Music. All the band members were about 19 years old at the time of the recording. Only 1,000 copies were pressed on cassette tape and distributed to fans and rock and metal magazines. Portnoy gave one copy to Jim Matheos of Fates Warning, a move that was instrumental in the band's break into the progressive rock scene. The line-up on the initial recording was keyboardist Kevin Moore, bassist John Myung, guitarist John Petrucci, and drummer Mike Portnoy. Chris Collins, the band's singer at the time, had been introduced to the band after a friend heard a demo of him singing a note-for-note version of Queensrÿche's "Queen of the Reich".

Seventeen tracks were released by Ytse Jam Records under the title The Berklee Demos and were recorded earlier by Portnoy, Petrucci and Myung at Berklee Music College. These tracks are instrumental. Tracks 11-17 (seven guitar miniatures, recorded by Petrucci and Portnoy late one night to demonstrate double-tracking the guitar). The songs on The Berklee Demos do not include keyboards, except for the cover of Rush's "YYZ" on which Portnoy plays keyboards. These recordings include versions of "Another Won," "Two Far," and "Your Majesty" which would all later appear on The Majesty Demos, though originally they were instrumentals without keyboards. It is for this reason that these three songs actually appear twice on the Ytse Jam Records re-release, as the CD is a combination of the Berklee Demos and the Majesty Demos.
Music information in first post provided by The AudioDB