Hard Rock Forums

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Battles in the North (1995)


Staff member
Mar 27, 2018
0.00 star(s) Rating: 0.00/5 0 Votes
Title: Battles in the North
Artist: Immortal
Genre: Black Metal
Released: 1995

1 - Battles in the North - 4:11
2 - Grim and Frostbitten Kingdoms - 2:47
3 - Descent Into Eminent Silence - 3:09
4 - Throned by Blackstorms - 3:38
5 - Moonrise Fields of Sorrow - 2:24
6 - Cursed Realms of the Winterdemons - 3:59
7 - At the Stormy Gates of Mist - 2:59
8 - Through the Halls of Eternity - 3:35
9 - Circling Above in Time Before Time - 3:56
10 - Blashyrkh (Mighty Ravendark) - 7:06
11 - Diabolical Fullmoon Mysticism - 0:42
12 - Unholy Forces of Evil - 4:27
13 - The Cold Winds of Funeral Frost - 3:50

Battles in the North is the third studio album by Norwegian black metal band Immortal. It was released on May 15, 1995 through Osmose Productions. It picks up where its predecessor, Pure Holocaust, left off, featuring extreme tempos, lo-fi production, and lyrics about coldness or wintery landscapes. This is the first album where the concept of Blashyrkh becomes a central focus. The last album to feature Abbath on drums.

The songs "Cursed Realms of the Winterdemons" and "Circling Above in Time Before Time" reference The Underdark, a setting from Dungeons and Dragons.

Music videos were made for "Blashyrkh (Mighty Ravendark)" and "Grim and Frostbitten Kingdoms", the latter featuring Hellhammer on drums, who also became the band's touring drummer during this period.
Music information in first post provided by The AudioDB